Hypothetically Speaking

Of all the awful possibilities, what’s the worst possible thing that could happen to you today? Now, what about the best?

Source: Worst Case Scenario

It has been around two and a half years that I am settling in Seoul and I still cannot adjust to the unfriendly, cold blast of wind ensuing every January. My body seemed to automatically shift to hibernation mode like it’s my second nature, because food and human company suddenly became secondary to staying in my cave of duvet each time winter approaches.

So, the worst thing that could happen today is if I actually relent to my inner bear and not open my eyes until the beginning of March, neglecting making any progress to the thesis (which I have literally put off of my mind for three weeks right now), or even deserting this blog all the same. I might wake up with a rotting brain, even a huger and furrier self, craving for some salmon or the sort. Does that mean I am excused from writing my thesis, though? Wait, what?

Well, for what it’s worth, thankfully enough my nighttime panic attacks deprive me from a full (furry) sleeping beauty mode, while turning me into an actual owl. Good Lord, why does it have to be all or nothing?

Now, for the best case scenario, my thoughts immediately went to imagining if against the natural order of things, Seoul will be less freezing with whatever technological advancement it possesses that would enable it to produce less wind and import more sun from back home, or any other tropical countries. As it appears too far-fetched, I suppose I can do just fine if I am able to wake up earlier today, go to the morning church service instead of the one at noon, and bring my lazy ass to Itaewon and spend the rest of my day at Whatthebook before it’s too dark out. I suppose it also wouldn’t hurt if I don’t find the Hollys cafe in my school gone as I was in the mood for some of their delicious milk tea as I am writing this post right now.

Having written this down, I feel like I have gone too far with my worst case scenario. But when it comes to the worst that could happen, I suppose anything could, including me eventually turning into a bear and losing my human consciousness.

Alright, I’m actually just too bothered to rewrite it all.

 

3 comments

  1. rogershipp · January 14, 2016

    ” My body seemed to automatically shift to hibernation mode like it’s my second nature, because food and human company suddenly became secondary to staying in my cave of duvet each time winter approaches.” Love the descriptiveness!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2.5 out of 5 | Just aimlessly questioning life

Leave a Reply

