Brain Barf

Today, give a word an evolutionary push: give a common word a new meaning, explain it to us, and use it in the title of your post.

Source: Morphing

First things first, I understand that the prompt precisely say to give a new meaning to one commonly used word, but I consciously take the step forward to make a new phrase instead. Why? Because it is something so close to my heart that it hurts, and I don’t want to suffer it by myself. I cannot be the only one experiencing this.

Now that it is addressed, I will begin by explaining how I come up with the term. Have you ever had those moments when you just ended up saying something that comes across your mind which were not meant to be said out loud in public? Like the time you were introducing yourself and you were actually doing just fine in the beginning, up to the point when your brain starts panicking because you feel like you should say something more, and then you proceed to just blurting out unnecessary, weird stuff from your mouth only to see the baffled expression from the person you are talking to, or a big audience. Or maybe you were just talking to someone, but suddenly your mind wanders around somewhere and then you just let your thoughts slip out, and then realized it was too late to wind it up back to the main conversation while you, again, lost the chance to gain a potential new friend. Yes, if you are nodding while holding your tears and silently screaming, “It’s soooo true!”, that is exactly what I meant by a “brain barf”.

I had no idea if there is a clinical term for this. If anyone does, please let me know. I also need to figure out whether my condition is serious enough to the extent that I need a prescription from a professional.

The lack of knowledge in vocabulary that I am obviously ashamed of also brought me to investigate whether any common words that could describe this condition already exists. I do notice that there is the term “brain fart”, which is a mental lapse, when one just suddenly forgot something one should know. Yet this does not quite grasp the situation I have numerously and embarrassingly been in, as my thoughts are not in any way disappearing to thin air with a funny sound. More accurately, it intensified too deeply it forgot that it’s in a middle of a speech or conversation and the words intrusively makes way to my mouth and then I found myself puking it all out without further ado. The condition might fit the category of a “slip of the tongue”, yet I went to the dictionary and it says that the phrase is understood as “an accidental and trivial mistake in speaking”. This, of course, differ greatly from having a “brain barf”, because, despite it being a situation when one unintentionally blab about something, it is not merely misspelling or mispronouncing a word, and it’s certainly not a trivial mistake. Thus, for the need to capture the scope of embarrassment the phrase should be able to encompass in more extreme cases, I guess it is safe to say that this diction should be invented.

Brain barf, what a wonderful phrase. Brain barf, ain’t no passin craze. It brings regretfulness for the rest of your days. It’s no problem-free phraseology… That is a truly mortifying brain barf example of a pathetic attempt of a parody to Hakuna Matata just running through my head. I am terribly sorry I need to ruin your day by that.

Don’t mention it. Hopefully, it will be useful in our daily vernacular.

5 comments

  1. Ngobesing Romanus · January 16, 2016

    That’s a nice one.

    Like

    • pointlessphilosopher · January 16, 2016

      Thank you! And thanks for reading my other posts as well. I hope I don’t depress you too much with them

      Like

      • Ngobesing Romanus · January 16, 2016

        I never thought of that at all until you said it. Instead your post ‘Brain barf’ was what first opened my mind to write my own response to the prompt
        http://yoursuccessinspirer.com/2016/01/16/new-words-for-gay-marriage/
        I had not known what I would write until I got inspiration from you and others whose posts I read after yours. Even if someone says a thing that is not pleasant to me, I will take it as an opportunity to apply my own teaching – to take every situation positively, turn it into a stepping-stone, see the seed of something useful in it. Thanks for being my friend on this platform.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. mjennings · January 16, 2016

    Oh, indeed, you’ve hit the nail on the head. It’s certainly brain barf. My very own is often sick with it.

    Like

    • pointlessphilosopher · January 17, 2016

      I am sorry you suffer from the same thing. I hope now the term is coined, a cure will eventually be found. In the meantime… let’s try to tone down the excitement for human interaction lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

