Taste of Ease

Your life without a computer: what does it look like?

Source: Life After Blogs

I can imagine life without a computer and/or internet connection. I am just going to be very miserable and under-qualified for pretty much anything.

I can still read books, but I reckon without the computer or the internet, I will be almost always short of money because I will not be able to access the free e-books available online. MTV would probably still be the coolest channel ever, but I most likely would just refer to the radio as well, but there won’t be as much option as I would only be able to access local channels. I’d definitely fall to the category of being basic as fringe, listening to mainstream pop in an overly enthusiastic manner, saying “Dis mah jam!” Oh dear.

Other considerations aside, the one thing that is oddly going to stay almost the same for me is writing. Even though I don’t put them to be seen in public, I still can keep a journal which basically works the same way. At least when it comes to content, this blog holds the record of my rants and thoughts about stuff, as well as the fiction writing bit. Actually, that I have done before in my teen years because I have no internet connection then and our family only has one properly functional computer which we put in my parents’ room for the lack of space. Of course, it is very gratifying that through blogging you may know people who enjoy reading what you write, and comments that may also motivate you to develop your writing skills. My point is that, even without the computer, people can still write, just without the convenience of the delete or backspace button, also the networking bit enabled through the internet and blogging sites.

The most painstaking task to do will be working on papers and other academic shenanigans I have no choice but to partake in to enter the society and be considered as an employable, system-compliant adult (yikes); to survive, in essence. I am not entirely sure that the setting will influence my nocturnal disposition, but it certainly would affect my upper back condition, the quality of my assignments and my performance in class. Not in a good way, as anyone would expect.

If I am yet to realize how the invention and dispersion of computers and internet connection have been taken for granted, this has definitely done it for me. I had a moment when I feel a bit overwhelmed when jotting the thoughts down, especially on the education part. My recently developed fear of being an eternally incapable, ungrateful man-child almost appeared more rational than ever.

I am not going to deny it anymore; all of my efforts to educate as well as entertain myself is mostly technology-bound. Yet it is interesting to also consider the fact that most of people, including me, have now understood the convenience of computers and the Internet, and that it is probably the reason why to some, the thought of having to live without both would be, to exaggerate, unbearable. Had it not been invented or perhaps not accessible to many, would life not just go on? Only that it would progress differently–well, not in any way people would know what “global, virtual connectivity” means.

Supposedly this response comes from someone who has no idea what computers are or can do, I think the question will initially be responded by another question. After the much needed explanation, opinions will vary because… one can only assume if it’s troublesome or handy, possible to exist or not. Much like any introduction to ideas– democracy, freedom, human rights, equality–old or new, depends on which perspective you’re on; but all seems evenly as abstract as the other. Kierkegaard might be correct when pointing out that “life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forwards”–this is the catch when discussing hypothetical questions that came out of estimated reverse experiences or ones derived from pure pensive.

Well, making something out of nothing has never been easy business, has it?

One comment

  1. Ngobesing Romanus · January 27, 2016

    I enjoyed reading your post. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

