Once I Was

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post. Source: This Is Your Song

The following is my rendition of the song “7 Years” by Lukas Graham.

Once I was seven years old my momma told me
Grow up an independent lady
You’ll understand that someday
Once I was seven years old

It was a big, big world and I’m no big, big girl
Pushing myself to be the shit only to realize I’m not
By eleven it hit me hard and boy, did I learn
To be able to define me for me on my own time

Once I was eleven years old my daddy told me
Kids had it better if their parents are kings
Once I was eleven years old

I always had that dream like my momma before me
So I started writing, reading, fulfilling my head with stories
Something about that glory just always seemed to bother me
Cause no one knows if it promises the same for all

Once I was 20 years old, they welcome me
To the so-called real world, as I
Question what’s the point of schooling
Once I was 20 years old

Soon we’ll be 30 years old, hopefully retained
The joys in the little things that matters most
Soon we’ll be 30 years old

I’m still learning about life
Struggling on how to define it
Reducing it to the select few
So that it will expand in meaning
I tell stories, I use my voice as a tool
To let those in need
Live in proxy fantasy even just for a while

Soon I’ll be 60 years old, my loved ones have gone
Waiting to welcome me into the place of no pain or tears
Whilst I’m smiling for the littluns in the family
Running around in their tiny little feet

Soon I’ll be 60 years old, will I think the world is cold
Or will I found life worth living that it warms me
Soon I’ll be 60 years old
Soon I’ll be 60 years old, will I think the world is cold
Or will I found life worth living that it warms me

Once I was seven years old my momma told me
Grow up an independent lady
You’ll understand that someday

Once I was seven years old

 

Leave a Reply

