Buy a Jackal Ticket

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

An imaginary conversation submitted for the prompt: Toot Your Horn

“Ha! Most people are good at being self-deprecating? You’re joking.”

“What? People do that all the time, no? Trying to be polite, courteous when situation calls… which is most of the time…”

“See, that’s the keyword. ‘Trying’. They’re not good at being self-deprecating. They are good in appearing to be self-deprecating. Moreover, most people are more capable to notice good things about themselves.”

“I agree with the first bit, but I am not sure about the second one.”

“I’ll give you an example. Say you stand up in the mirror. Though you probably don’t like the fat you collect in your belly, but you’re probably fast in spotting how you like other features of yourself. Prolly your hair, your nose, your eyes, and so on.”

“Eh, I don’t think it’s easy for most people to find themselves physically attractive by possessing only some good traits, though.”

“You’re probably right. But somehow it makes them feel good even for a little. Well, unless they’re trying to impress the entire human race.”

“Hmm, yeah, maybe.”

“Point is, people make up excuses quickly. Same goes with recognizing their favorite thing because it helps them cope with things they lack.”

“So, what’s your favorite thing about yourself then?”

“Easy. I’m good at being self-deprecating. Appearing as one comes off even easier.”

“So you’re saying you’re not like most people then?”

“Yeah. That a problem?”

“No, no, I just never came across such arrogance from people who self-deprecates like it’s their second nature.”

“Oooh, a little testy, I see. Now, allow me to let you in a secret. Come closer… self-deprecation does not entail timidness, my friend. Sometimes, embracing your worst traits as part of yourself works as well as the best, the good, the positive ones or whatever they call it.”

“Huh. I never thought of it that way… So, you are saying, rather than telling yourself ‘the fuck with what everybody else suggest, I am beautiful inside and out’, you can have the same amount of self-esteem by saying, ‘yep, I know I’m ugly to most people, but hey, I’m okay with being ugly. Doesn’t matter much’?”

“Exactly. It’s just that people prescribe this ‘positive’ self-love thing more these days. Personally, I struggle with it because I feel like I’m lying to myself because I don’t fucking believe in it on the first place. Self-deprecation is simply an easier path to take so I can function.”

“Well, yeah, self-love could be a little too overrated.”

“Uh-huh. My turn now, what’s your favorite thing about yourself then?”

“Eh, probably my ability to be so-called creative and shit. You know, like making up this whole conversation to compensate for the lack of academic productivity.”

“Now you got it.”

One comment

  1. Aruna @RipplesnReflections · February 24, 2016

    Got it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

